RSS Feed

Seat post judgement mistake

Posted on

I love repairing bikes for multiple reasons. One is being able to see what people do to their bikes that could have been prevented. Those bikes usually end up in the garbage and I’m often there to salvage what I can from the what’s left.

Recently I pick up this nice Renegade. Very nice in appearance but someone didn’t understand seat post adjustment. So next time someone asks you “Why can’t I raise my seat post that high?” show the following pictures.  The bike is basically scrapped unless some extensive welding work is involved. I wouldn’t trust this week point in the bike to perform right anymore. Even straightening the collar and inserting the seat post further down would put too much strain on the rest the the seat tube and the seat post in my opinion.

The damage

 

 

I have other bikes with different broken bones too post. Stay tuned!

4 responses »

  1. DisabledCyclist

    Wow….

    The DC

    Reply
  2. My bike is like this because my seat was too high. How would you fix this problem?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

