RSS Feed

Books: Making Bombs for Hitler

Posted on

It’s been a while since I posted. I should do it more often or more regularly. I got a call from the library some days ago telling me that Making Bombs for Hitler was finally arrived. When I ordered it through the online system a few copies were available through Alberta and there was  a line up for it. It only took some weeks to be able to get it. Yay!

Making Bombs for Hitler is another book by Marsha Forchuk Srypuch. Published at the Scholastic editions. In this book you follow Lida from the time she’s abducted by the Nazi and put to work in the concentration camps. This is like the sister book of the author’s previous book Stolen Child that I liked. You can see my review in my previous posts. Lida is Larissa’s older sister. You get to follow her in her surviving of the camps and making herself useful to not be killed using her skills learn with her family before they died. It took me 2 nights to read through it. The first night I went through 1/3 of the book and the following night I was almost grateful for my boy friend’s super loud snoring so I had to go in the spare room to be able to sleep. I brought the book with me and finished it in the early hours of the morning. I didn’t get much sleep but that was worth it! I couldn’t get out of that book even more than with Stolen Child. The details were awesome. The author must have been doing a lot of research. It was sometimes hard to read as the things that happens to those kids is horrible. The turnip soup and saw dust bread they get to survive and how their clothes are turning into rags are just a few things that you read in the book.

Another must read book. It was really interesting. I’m also reading From a Buick 8 from Stephen King and Stolen Child and Making Bombs for Hitler were far more interesting. Good work Marsha for another great book. When is the next one? I can’t wait!!!

Book Cover

5 responses »

  1. Always great to have some background information on those times. I am German and I believe we should read as much as we can about that era. I’ll try to find that book somewhere on the internet and post here again when I’ve read it.

    Reply
  2. Thank you for your awesome review of my novel, Making Bombs For Hitler. I hope to continue the story in another book, but while you’re waiting you might enjoy another of my recent books: Last Airlift: A Vietnamese Orphan’s Rescue From War.

    If you’re particularly interested in WWII stories, check out Hope’s War. I wrote that more than a decade ago. It’s available as an ebook and it should be available from your library as well.

    Reply
  3. Eeek! I just realized you read Last Airlift way back in Feb! Thank you for reading my books, and writing about them as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

