RSS Feed

Banana Bread

Posted on

There’s one recipe I’m making every week to put in lunches and that is always in demand. Banana bread is a star in my house. While I was making a batch of it I thought to share it. Super easy recipe that anyone can do.

If you are like me and like to have ripe bananas on hand when ready. Nothing easier. I let multiple hands of bananas ripen on the counter top. When they are ready I separate them by 3 and mash them. Then I store them in a ziploc bag and off to the freezer until I need them. When it’s time to use a bag I defrost it in the fridge or in the microwave. Easy!

Ingredients:
– 3 mashed ripe bananas
– 1/4 cup vegetable oil (I use canola)
– 1/2 cup of sugar
– 1/2 plain fat free yogourt
– 2 eggs
– 2 cups of whole wheat flour
– 1 tea spoon of baking soda
– 2 tea spoon of baking powder

In a large bowl beat the oil and the sugar. Add the eggs one at a time mixing after each addition. Mix in the mashed bananas.
In a separate bowl, mix the flour, baking powder and baking soda.
Mix half of the flour mixture to the banana mix and blend well. Mix in half of the yogourt and mix well. Add the remain of the flour mix, blending it well. Then add the remain of the yogourt to the mix making sure all the mixture is uniform.
Pour the bather in a bread pan or 8.5″x4.5″x2.5″ mold coated with non adhesive cooking spray.
Bake at 350F on the middle grill for 60 minutes or until a toothpick get out clean.

Voila!

Alternatives:
I sometimes add yummy things in my bread. You can add 1/2 cup of coconut or 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. You can mix in 1 tea spoon of vanilla. Or another I’ve done is melting 2 semi-sweet chocolate squares and adding them to the mixture. You can also sprinkle the top with icing sugar or put 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts.

 

Leave a Reply

